Do you have a marketing plan?

The other day I read a really interesting article about marketing for indie authors. The author stated that every indie author should ask himself if he has a three month, six month and one year marketing plan. Being the good student that I am I immediately asked myself. Then I stopped short: a three month plan? Seriously? Hell, I am lucky if I have a three week plan, or a three day plan come to think of it.

Here is how I managed my last marketing campaign:

  1. I observed that sales of my fantasy serial were declining as well as sales of the complete edition.
  2. I wasn’t happy about that and decided to take the serial out of the shops to push sales of the complete edition.
  3. I formalated a marketing strategy: first take the serial out of distribution (check), second do a free book promo at Amazon of the comlete edition.
  4. See, I did it. That was a sound one week marketing strategy.
  5. A couple of hours later my distributor asked me if I really, really wished to cancel the serial, because it had just been included in the iTunes Apple Breakout book promotion.
  6. Oh?
  7. Hmmm.
  8. No, scratch that. Lets leave the serial in the shops.
  9. I can always go back to my original strategy later. Which would make it basically a long term plan.
  10. So that was a success, wasn’t it? Now I have a strategy which might cover at least two months. I am improving my skills already!

On the positive side you will probably notice what a flexible, fast acting person I am. On the negative side, well, my marketing strategy tends to be a bit … jumpy? But I am working on it. The next marketing plan, spanning a period of four weeks is coming up. The “Creatures of Fire” blog tour. Scheduled to start April 17th. Don’t miss it!

This entry was posted in Stuff about writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do you have a marketing plan?

  1. I’m not sure why but this blog is loading very slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a problem on my end? I’ll check back later and
    see if the problem still exists.

Leave a Reply

