J.B.’s Workplace

April_25_JBs_Workplace_JB_BrooklinLast summer I had an interview with a journalist from the local press. I was pretty excited because this was my very first interview and of course I wanted to make a good impression. There was no way around it, I had to clean my office. When she came, my desk was devoid of clutter, pristine and shining. The whole office looked as though I had just moved in.

“Does it always look like this here?” The journalist asked with a hint of incredulity in her voice.
“Well, yes,” I answered. The words had hardly left my mouth when I saw her expression and knew that I had said the wrong thing. It was a small lie, ok, and the article turned out to be really nice and well written but I had failed to provide her with a little flavor.

Author’s aren’t supposed to be neat and tidy people! We are chaotic, messy and, when inspiration strikes us, not likely to clean our workplace. As a matter of fact, this is me. I am a chaotic person and chances are, that after I have cleaned everything up (which happens not as often as it should), it only takes me a couple of days to get back to having a table covered in a lot of stuff.

So, for the sake of credibility and, well … flavor, I have decided to take a photo that shows nothing but the truth (btw, my husband asked me twice if I really, really wanted to post that).
April_25_JBs_Workplace_JB_Brooklin

This entry was posted in Stuff about writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

